Working in Fashion Media: Fashion Media – Cover Layout Assignment

Assignment Instructions: Cover Layout
Suggested time to complete: 60 minutes

Your portfolio, even if it is digital, needs a “cover” page. Start by searching online for images of  “digital portfolio cover” to see some examples. This is the first page of the PDF portfolio, or the opening screen on a website. It includes your name, the name of the portfolio, and a cue about your digital style. In the same way a magazine shows it style from the moment the reader sees it, your portfolio must represent your aesthetic and brand from the moment the hiring manager sees it.

For this version of your cover, create a standard page in Google Docs or other free online platform. If you prefer, you can program your web or blog site to include your cover page.

To complete this assignment: Click the Upload link to add a screenshot of your portfolio cover.

My Upload: It was definitely a challenge to pick just one design for this assignment. I consider myself a very creative person and have been flexing my graphic design muscles even more since starting my blog, Life Styled by Sammy. As a result, I decided to make three versions of the portfolio cover and choose the one I would use for my final portfolio later. I used the graphic-design tool website Canva to create these, I uploaded the first image shown below, as it’s my top choice at the moment. This may change later!

Leave a comment